Skip Navigation Links
2017-2020 Strategic Plan
AACC Affiliated Councils
AACC Commissions
AACC Commissions FAQ
Government Relations Advisory Group
AACC Corporate Program
Corporate Council
AACC Governance
AACC Senior Staff
Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity
Join AACC: Your Investment in Success
Issue Areas
Is Your College a Member?
Mission Statement
Presidents Academy
Who We Are
Work for AACC

 AACC Commissions FAQ 

The AACC Board has authorized six commissions with the purpose of providing advice to the AACC Board and staff. Each commission consists of an average of 24 individuals. CEOs and administrators from current member colleges may be nominated, or nominate themselves, to sit on a commission. People from organizations who work in areas that are relevant to the specific commissions' specific charges may also be considered for a seat on the commission.

The six commissions are:

  • Commission on Academic, Student and Community Development 
  • Commission on Communications and Marketing 
  • Commission on Diversity, Inclusion and Equity 
  • Commission on Economic and Workforce Development 
  • Commission on Global Education 
  • Commission on Research, Technology and Emerging Trends

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get on a commission?

AACC will alert the field via electronic newsletters when commissions are accepting applications. Those interested in serving must submit nomination  forms, which will be housed online.

Commission members are chosen by the AACC Chair-Elect annually in May. Those selected will begin serving in July of that year. 

Commission members appointed by the Chair-Elect must represent institutions that are current members of AACC.

If I am not a CEO, can I be nominated as an institututional member?

Institutional members on commissions must be CEOs or campus leaders. In some cases, vice presidents and provosts will be considered. However, affiliated council representatives can be employed in many different areas.   

How long are commission terms for institutional members and affiliated council representatives?

Commissioners designated as institutional members serve for three years. Affiliated council representatives serve an annual term, and must be reappointed each year. 

When are commission meetings held?

The commissions meet twice a year, once in the fall, and once in the spring in conjunction with the AACC Convention.


Dr. Angel M. Royal
Chief of Staff
202.728.0200 ext. 255
Home | Site Map | ©2017  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | | |