Skip Navigation Links
Institutional Membership Nominees
Sunita (Sunny) Cooke
Jose Fierro
Maria Harper-Marinick
James Henningsen
Patricia Hsieh
Merrill Irving, Jr.
Vicki Hawsey Karolewics
Glenn Roquemore
William Serrata
Affiliated Council Nominees
Kevin Boys
Ronald Rhames
Jianping Wang

 Patricia Hsieh 

POSITION: Since 2005: President of San Diego Miramar College, a public institution in San Diego, California.

PREVIOUS: Served as Interim President, Sacramento City College; Vice President, Student Services, Sacramento City College; Vice President, Student Services, San Bernardino Valley College; Dean, Student Learning and Development, Moorpark College; Dean, Admissions and Records, Antelope Valley College.

AFFILIATIONS: Serves on boards: National Coalition of Certification Centers (NC3); Community Based Education (COMBASE), Community College Baccalaureate Association (CCBA); San Diego Maritime Museum; North San Diego Business Chamber; Hong Kong Business Association; San Diego Art Association. Member: Commission on Global Education; Commission on Educational Innovation and Attainment; Network Revitalization and Engagement; Mayor’s API Advisory Committee.

EDUCATION: Ed. D., Institutional Management in Higher Education with a specialization in Community College Administration, Pepperdine University; M.A., Guidance and Counseling, Wayne State University; B.A., Western Languages and Literature, National Chengchi University; Certificate, Harvard University Institute for Educational Management (IEM).

OTHER: Visiting Professor: 2104, Vocational College Leadership Seminar, Beijing, China; 2014, Hsiu Ping University of Technology, Taiwan, Rep. of China; 2015, Hainan Vocational College of Political Science and Law, Hainan, China.  Awarded: 2006 Asian Heritage Award; 2008 Outstanding Educator; 2010 Fulbright Scholar; 2016 Fulbright Scholar. Presentations: 2008-2016, Asilomar Leadership Conference; 2011& 2013-2016 American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Annual Conference; 2013- 2016 Community College League of California (CCLC) Conference; 2016, President’s Academy; 2016, Sustainability Education and Economic Development (SEED) Center Annual Conference; 2016, Community College Baccalaureate Association (CCBA) Annual Conference; 2016, Pepperdine University Women Leadership in Higher Education Center Inaugural Conference.

Home | Site Map | ©2017  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | | |