Skip Navigation Links
Institutional Membership Nominees
Leah Bornstein
Debra (Debbie) Derr
Bradley Ebersole
Mary Graham
Andrew Jones
Anne Kress
Doreen Larson
Robert Pura
Luke Robins
Jackson Sasser
Christine Sobek
Gregory Williams
Affiliated Council Nominees
Christal Albrecht
Anthony Beebe
Sandra Kurtinitis
Ann Loochtan
Donna Meyer
Lawrence Nespoli
John Rainone
L. Marshall Washington

 John Rainone 

Council: Council for Resource Development

POSITION -- Since 2013, President of Dabney S. Lancaster Community College, a public, rural institution with a campus in Clifton Forge, Virginia and two satellite centers serving its area residents.

PREVIOUS -- Twenty-five years of community college executive experience serving as dean and executive director of institutional advancement, York County Community College (Maine); dean of workforce development, York County Community College; interim dean of academic programs and interim director of finance and administration, York County Community College; assistant dean of continuing education, Manchester Community College (New Hampshire); and adjunct professor at Southern New Hampshire University, York County Community College, and Manchester Community College.

AFFILIATIONS -- Serve on Boards – AACC Commission on Communications and Marketing (2010-12); President, Council for Resource Development (AACC), (2012); Council for Resource Development (2005-2013); DSLCC Educational Foundation; Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission; judge at the Community College Futures Assembly (2011-2012); Alleghany Highlands Economic Development Council; Ogunquit (Maine) Playhouse; New England Association of Schools & Colleges accreditation reviewer (1994-2012) and  Rotary Club; Member – Rural Community College Alliance (AACC), National Council for Marketing & Public Relations (AACC), and Community Colleges of Appalachia.

EDUCATION -- Ed. D., Higher Education Administration, Nova Southeastern University; M.S., Business Education, Southern New Hampshire University; B.S., Business Communications, Southern New Hampshire University.

OTHER -- Recognized by the Seacoast Media Group (Maine) as the Community Mover & Shaker (2013); Alumni Distinguished Service Award from Southern New Hampshire University (2010); Finalist, United Way of York County Community Impact Award (2012); Phi Theta Kappa, Honorary Member (2012); Certified Fundraising Executive (CFRE); Numerous presentations for AACC, Rural Community College Alliance, Council for Resource Development on workforce development, partnerships, fundraising in community colleges and rural community colleges.

Home | Site Map | ©2014  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |