Skip Navigation Links
Awards Home Page
2016 Awards of Excellence
2015 Awards of Excellence
2014 Awards of Excellence
2013 Awards of Excellence

 2016 Faculty Innovation 

The AACC Faculty Innovation Award recognizes faculty of AACC member colleges who have demonstrated leadership in the development and implementation of a campus program that has had positive impact on the learning experience for students.  The outcome of this program should result in the improvement of student completion numbers within a course or a degree field.  Nominees should demonstrate an ongoing commitment to student access and success.

Criteria used to evaluate applications are as follows:

  • Leads substantive and ongoing innovation in the classroom that promotes and supports student access and success.
  • The initiative for which the faculty member is being nominated should be scalable and has resulted in improved completion numbers for the college.
  • The innovation:
    •  Focuses on access and student success
    • Shows a move from low rates of student success to high rates of student success
    •  Supports eradicating achievement gaps
    • Is based on data
    • Incorporates the use data analytics, educational diagnostics, and learning management systems to ensure that students are achieving mastery within the course or program.


  • Colleges led by current members of the AACC Board of Directors are not eligible to apply.
  • Previous winners in this category are not eligible to apply.
  • Award finalists in a previous year are eligible to apply in the same category for the subsequent year.  However, the finalist must submit an enhanced application. Enhanced means that the applicant must show further improvement in student outcomes. 

The deadline for submitting applications has closed. 

Home | Site Map | ©2016  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |