Skip Navigation Links
Awards Home Page
2016 Awards of Excellence
2015 Awards of Excellence
2014 Awards of Excellence
2013 Awards of Excellence

 2016 Emerging Leadership 

The AACC Emerging Leadership Award recognizes CEOs who have developed exemplary systems of leadership and professional development and created a campus culture that proactively supports career and leadership advancement for all campus personnel. Nominees should demonstrate an ongoing commitment to leadership development for emerging community college leaders through programming that includes exposure to the AACC Competencies for Community College Leaders.

Criteria used to evaluate applications are as follows:

  • Leads substantive and ongoing campus programs that promote and support professional leadership advancement for college personnel.
  • Supports employee participation in community, regional and national leadership programs/institutes (AACC Future Leaders Institute, League for Innovation Executive Leadership Institute, etc.).
  • Utilizes AACC's Competencies for Community College Leaders as a guideline to inform campus leadership development efforts.
  • Actively and individually participates in developing emerging leaders through such activities as mentoring, coaching, lecturing, or writing for professional publications.
  • Demonstrates a strategic and sustained commitment to leadership excellence.


  • Colleges led by current members of the AACC Board of Directors are not eligible to apply.
  • Previous winners in this category are not eligible to apply.
  • Award finalists in a previous year are eligible to apply in the same category for the subsequent year.  However, the finalist must submit an enhanced application. Enhanced means that the applicant must show further strengthening and development of the college's leadership and professional development efforts. 

General Guidelines and Nomination Instructions:

  • All nominated colleges must be current AACC members, as well as maintain active institutional membership with the association for 2016.
  • The nomination coversheet must be signed by the chief executive officer of the nominating institution.
  • Each award is given annually, and the honoree(s) will be recognized at the AACC Annual Convention.
  • Nominating packages (excluding required photos) should be transmitted ELECTRONICALLY IN ONE PDF via the link provided at the bottom of this page to the Awards of Excellence Hightail Mailbox AND include the following:
    • Nomination Cover sheet [PDF].
    • Minimum of two letters of support.
    • Additional support materials (i.e. news coverage, fact sheet, descriptions) not to exceed five (5) pages.
    • 5 publication quality photos: (1) publication quality head shot [300 dpi resolution or higher] of the college CEO, and (4) publication quality photos of leadership development programs in action.

IMPORTANT: Nominating package should be contained in ONE PDF and the file name should be the NAME OF THE COLLEGE. [Example: Evergreencollege.pdf] Also, please include "National Awards Program Nomination" in the subject line when you click on the link below to ensure proper delivery.

Deadline for receipt of entries is Monday, November 30, 2015. Colleges selected as finalists for the award will be notified in advance. The names of award winner will be embargoed until announced at the AACC Convention.

Upload application packet here.  

Home | Site Map | ©2015  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |