Skip Navigation Links
Awards Home Page
2016 Awards of Excellence
2015 Awards of Excellence
2014 Awards of Excellence
2013 Awards of Excellence

 2014 Emerging Leadership Award 

Today’s leaders understand the importance of investing for the future of their colleges. The AACC Emerging Leadership Award recognizes AACC member CEOs who have created a campus culture that supports employee leadership advancement at all levels.


2014 Finalists




Kathleen Hetherington

Howard Community College (Maryland)

Individuals who have the opportunity to expand their knowledge are more effective in their work, and are strong role models for students. That’s the belief of Kathleen Hetherington, president of Howard Community College (HCC).

Debra McCurdy

Rhodes State College (Ohio)

The leadership of Rhodes State College President Debra McCurdy has led to a safer environment for students on her campus and on campuses across the country.

Jim MurDaugh

Tallahassee Community College (Florida)

When Jim Murdaugh became president of Tallahassee Community College (TCC) in 2010, he revived a long-dormant leadership development program and helped change the culture of the college.

Rose Bellanca

Washtenaw Community College (Michigan)

As president of Washtenaw Community College (WCC), Rose Bellanca is fully committed to creating a culture of leadership.

Since becoming president in 2011, she has already developed a mission-driven culture of teamwork, strength within the organization, and effective leadership across the institution.

Home | Site Map | ©2016  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |