Skip Navigation Links
Institutional Membership Nominees
Leah Bornstein
Debra (Debbie) Derr
Bradley Ebersole
Mary Graham
Andrew Jones
Anne Kress
Doreen Larson
Robert Pura
Luke Robins
Jackson Sasser
Christine Sobek
Gregory Williams
Affiliated Council Nominees
Christal Albrecht
Anthony Beebe
Sandra Kurtinitis
Ann Loochtan
Donna Meyer
Lawrence Nespoli
John Rainone
L. Marshall Washington

 Sandra Kurtinitis 

Council: Community College Humanities Association

POSITION -- Since 2005, President of the Community College of Baltimore County (Md.), the largest provider of higher education in the Baltimore region, a multi-campus college serving 70,000 students annually.

PREVIOUS -- President of Quinsigamond Community College (Mass.) and Dean of Academic Affairs for Berkshire Community College (Mass.)., and 22 years as an English professor and department chair at Prince George’s Community College (Md.).

AFFILIATIONS -- Serves many local board of Directors including those of the Greater Baltimore Committee, the Maryland Business Roundtable for Education, and the Regional Manufacturing Institute.  Served on the Community College Humanities Association (CCHA) Board of Directors since 2010 as well as two terms on AACC’s Commission on Economic and Workforce Development.  Represented the community college sector in many arenas such as the 2011 and 2014 White House Summits on Community Colleges, the 2012 Maryland Higher Education Commission Forum, and the National Humanities Alliance Advocacy Day.

EDUCATION -- Ph.D. degree in American Civilization, George Washington University (D.C.); master’s degree in British Literature, University of Maryland, College Park; bachelor’s degree in British Literature, College Misericordia (Pa.).

OTHER -- Publications: Four college composition textbooks and numerous articles. Lectures: the community college sector. Awards: a 2013 “Influential Marylander” by the Daily Record newspaper; 2011 “Outstanding Woman of the Year” honoree by the American Association for Women in the Community Colleges; “recognized locally as the 2012 Humanitarian of the Year.

Home | Site Map | ©2014  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |